SkyStrip-Vert About a week ago on artdc.org, there were a couple of threads about “Process” in art as art itself. There are obviously as many interpretations of what that means as there are people thinking about it, but I decided to give it ago since I found the idea so interesting. The concept is to take a drawing from start to finish and to capture it in different stages along the way. Once the “final” image is “complete”, I’m going to go back and recreate several of the stages from scratch. That way, each stage that went into the final piece will actually “exist” in the form of an individual drawing and could be considered art in its own right (although, I intend to present them all together as one work once the project is done). Ultimately, I’d then like to take each stage and turn it into something new…finish it…into something else other than what the “original” final piece ended up being. Ultimately, there should be a series of works that, together, materially communicate the process of art in its literal mechanized form as well as the fact that we always leave paths untaken behind us…

The image to the left of this entry is the series I’ll be working on for this. The last image is the first “complete” piece. The previous images are stages that I’ll have to recreate (although I probably wont use all of them).

I’ll track this as its own page in this blog after this post…

(Image links to larger image)

