I posted a couple of things in artdc today, but I want to add them here as well since the audiences are somewhat different. First of all, I want to comment more on the prints I did for last night’s show:

“Ed Tufte (http://www.edwardtufte.com/tufte/ ) talks a lot about the benefit of putting tangible things in people’s hands to help get and keep their attention. Traditionally, people hand out things (business cards) in order to communicate/record specific information…but it’s good to keep in mind that that’s not the only reason you have hardcopy with you. Just…holding and touching things…helps people connect with you and your work. When you give talks or presentations and you have a nicely printed and bound handout to give the audience..they pay much more attention to you. The handout doesn’t even have to map directly to what you’re saying (or selling)…it just has to have some real content that catches their eye, that they can hold on to during the presentation, and that they refer back to later as an “a-ha!”.

If I’d just had business cards last night instead of hand-out prints, I wouldn’t have sold anything…”

Secondly, a threat there made me go dig up and out one of my favorite art quotes (and one I try to live up to):

“Harry,” said Basil Hallward, looking him straight in the face, “every portrait that is painted with feeling is a portrait of the artist, not of the sitter. The sitter is merely the accident, the occasion. It is not he who is revealed by the painter; it is rather the painter who, on the coloured canvas, reveals himself. The reason I will not exhibit this picture is that I am afraid that I have shown in it the secret of my own soul.”

From: Oscar Wilde / Picture of Dorian Gray

