So, it’s been awhile since I posted here. [Obvious Tag Engs Here]. Christmas in Florida was very, very good. In fact, it was probably the best I can recall. There are lots of reasons for that, none of which I’m going to repeat here; suffice it to say that it was a needed thing. On the other hand, it was frickin busy. I didn’t see half the people I would’ve liked or spend half the time I would’ve liked with those I did. Meh. The New Years Break (Half of Friday, Sat, New Years Eve, New Years, and President Ford Day) was spent doing absolutely nothing. Nada. Not a thing.

Our sole nod to the holiday was to go to the Mason Temple in Alexandria to watch the fireworks in the rain and to test the new lenses. Paivi only managed to get a few shots in due to the weather, but a couple did come out well.

Here’s one example:

Mason Temple in Alexandria on New Years Eve 2006

Pretty neat looking, yeah?
Oh, hrm, art. You want to know about the art? Basically, art was part of my break. I really did spend most of the past two weeks either with family or vegetating. HOWEVER, I’ve started a couple of pieces and am back on track.

Other news: I started reading a book today (after which this post as been titled) and, having made it no further than the acknowledgements and preface, have completely fallen in love with it. I’ve also even started a short story of my own that I’ve been batting around in my head for -years-. I’m almost positive I know exactly where it’s going, too – it feels right – despite not having written any substantial fiction in a few years.

Lastly, in keeping with the literary theme here , I’ll be starting a Journalism Certificate set of courses at Georgetown University’s Center for Professional Development at the end of this month. I think it’ll be a lot of fun, help me work off some of my bad habits, tone up the skills, etc. The classes will also, hopefully, provide a potential entrance into a portable job-skill base. In other words, if I want to run off somewhere with Paivi for 3 or 4 months, I’d like to justify it with some meager freelance income. Who knows. If nothing else, it’ll be a different experience. :)

