Color updates on the mosaic generator have now been made. It’s a bit slow – since it operates on all three color bands independently of each other – but the effects are kind of cool. The questions the code asks you make more sense, now, and you no longer have to specify the base image on the command line.

I’ll release Windows and Mac binaries in the next 2 days or so. I also threw a GPL open-source license on it.

You can find the code here (and I know it’s still not completely “python-like”, that’s next):

https://sintixerr.wordpress.com/tone-altering-mosaic-generator-tamogen-in-python/

For sample images, I used two old conte-crayon pieces I’d done and combined them. The first image is of the “whole” mosaic. The second is zoomed in. I love the color variations the code creates when it makes the mosaic – I think the second image could be a standalone piece of art in its own right:

