Last week, I had the perfect storm of random happenings.  I was outside having coffee with Stacey by the Pentagon City Mall.  I got a twitter from Rebecca – some mumbling about a guy with a machete getting off the same bus as her. Quite surprised (and amused), I shared the message with Stacey.  Just as I do that, who walks up to us but Rebecca herself!  You have to keep in mind – Im not sure Ive ever run into her outside of Artomatic before in my life. The timing here is too weird. So weird, in fact, that the only thing I can think of to say to her is:

“Machete?!?!”

Turns out, some guy in a suit got off the local bus near where we were…manicured and everything….but with a machete on his back.  Hrm.  I cant say I havent felt the same way myself before, but most of us dont DO that :)

Anyway, Rebecca wanders off to knit (in Starbucks I think?? or some secret hole to Neverwhere) and Stace and I finish up. 

Heading into the metro, the next Yellow line to DC is 8 minutes away, but a blue line will be right there. I figure Ill catch that and jump across above ground from Farragut West to Farragut North and catch the red line home.

And…that brings us to the point of this post. 

Once I get up the stairs, Im surprised to hear….love shack….by the B-52’s. I check my ipod. No, no it’s not coming from there.  I look around and realize there is an actual live band  in Farragut Square doing love shack.  Not that that’s my favorite song mind you – by any means – but the fact that the typically dreary shuffle of end-of-workday commutes that normally happens here has been completely supplanted by random live 80’s music in the middle of the square. How freaking cool.

Apparently they were playing for the last day of OnTap’s “Sounds in the Square”.  I wish I had seen the others. I need to read my OnTap notices more carefully!

Luckily, I actually brought my video camera with me to work that day (???? I never do that ????). I grabbed it from my bag and immediately started filming.

As the song went on, I realized that these guys were pretty good (By pretty good I mean dont mean I’d fly to Hong Kong to see them, but they were FAR and away better than what you normally find laying around there in the afternoon)  AND had a great sense of humour.  All the guys were wearing moon pants, the guitarist had a Karate Kid bandana on, the basist had big white sunglasses with slits in them, the female singer was Madonna’d out, and the male singer had Rick-Springfield sunglasses. 

I ended up filming six songs in High Definition and I think they all came out really well – especially as it was spur of the moment and I couldnt move around much.  I’ve included two of my favorites in this post – Walk Like an Egyptian (top) and Jessie’s Girl (bottom). I particularly like the footage of Walk Like an Egyptian…the singer walked out and was dancing with a couple of kids egyptian-style. It was adorable.

Anyway, the band’s name was “The Reflex”.  They’re based in DC and if you want a bit of entertaining eighties in your life, check them out!

http://reflexlive.com/

 

 

