So, with what is quite interesting timing, (and thanks, in no small part to Twitter), I just found out a couple of days ago that I’ll be giving a talk at EnergySec This year.  The tentative title is: “A Technologist’s Admission of Inadequacy: The executive’s role in National Cyber Security”.
I’d really like to use this opportunity as a platform for some of my concerns, as a technologist, about how we’re treating cyber security as a technical problem – at an operational level, at a strategic business level, and at a legislative level. I’ve touched on these concerns before in this blog, but I’m really excited about the chance to do it in person in front of a lot of other smart people who are actively working cyber security problems.

Thinking out loud, I wrote this earlier:

One of my interests, part of my future role, and with a perspective grounded in building/designing ways to detect badness / working on ICS-CERT, is in combating our habit of defining security in technical terms or on relying on technologists to “fix it”without ever defining what “it” is.  A secure system is one that does no more and no less than the people who have ownership and stake in it wish it to do- and that’s a business rule/decision/appetite.  As a technologist, if you ask me to secure your systems and let me define what that means, I’ll fail.  (ie: There is no “evil” flag in TCP). I’d like to make a plea for organizations to define security through risks to interrelated cross-sector business and social requirements (and associated appetites) before spending so much effort to create technical security plans, standards, controls, laws. An army without a defined mission can be potent just based on size and power, but one that has a mission and defined goals is much, much better.

I’m sure I’ll evolve what I actually want to say between now and September, but that’s where my head is now.